The Ministry.—Canada's system of government is based upon that of the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate) is responsible to Parliament. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the representatives of the people. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration	
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald		
2	Hon. Alexander Mackenzie Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald		
0	Hon, Sir John Alexander Macdonald		
ŝ	Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson		
6	Hon. Sir MACKENZIE BOWELL.	Dec. 21, 1894 - Apr. 27, 1896	
7	Hon. Sir CHARLES TUPPER	May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896	
8	Rt. Hon. Sir WILFRID LAURIER.	July 11, 1896 - Oct. 6, 1911	
9	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden		
		(Conservative Administration)	
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden		
	D	(Unionist Administration)	
11	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN	July 10, 1920 - Dec. 29, 1921	
		(Unionist-"National Liberal	
12	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King.	and Conservative Party") Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926	
13	Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen	June 29, 1921 - Sune 23, 1920 June 29, 1926 - Sept. 25, 1926	
14	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING.		
15	Rt. Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT.	Aug. 7, 1930 - Oct. 23, 1935	
16	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING.		
17	Rt. Hon. LOUIS STEPHEN ST. LAURENT		

2.—Prime Ministers Since Confederation

3.-Members of the Seventeenth Ministry as at Aug. 31, 1950

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Norz.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions of the Year Book. Parliamentary Assistants to the Cabinet Ministers are given in footnotes to Table 9.

Office	Occupant	Date of Appointment ¹
Prime Minister and President of the King's Privy Council for Canada	Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent	{Dec. 10, 1941 {Nov. 15, 1948
Minister of Trade and Commerce Minister of Agriculture	Rt. Hon. CLARENCE DECATUR HOWE Rt. Hon. JAMES GARFIELD GARDINER	{Oct. 23, 1935 Jan. 19, 1948 Oct. 28, 1935
Member of the Administration and Minister without Portfolio Minister of Public Works	Hon. James Angus MacKinnon Hon. Alphonse Fournier	{Jan. 23, 1939 Apr. 1, 1949 Oct. 6, 1942

For footnote, see end of table, p. 60.